Scott Cunningham - Getty Images
What are your thoughts on the controversial infield-fly call from Friday's Wild Card game between the Braves and Cardinals?
The first installment of the new Wild Card one-game playoff did not pass without controversy. Major League Baseball’s postseason opener against the St. Louis Cardinals and Atlanta Braves has become more known for the infamous infield-fly call than anything else.
The Braves entered the 8th inning trailing the Cardinals 6-3. They were able to put runners on first and second base with one out, sending shortstop Andrelton Simmons to the plate. The rookie hit what appeared to a routine pop fly into shallow left field.
Only it didn’t turn out to be so routine.
Cardinals shortstop Pete Kozma and left fielder Matt Holliday converged on the ball. Both players made an effort for it, but the ball ultimately fell to the grass between them. It appeared the Braves had caught a break which resulted in them having the bases loaded with only one out.
However, the infield-fly rule was put in effect by the left field umpire. This meant Simmons was out and that Atlanta now had runners on first and second with two outs.
Some believed the call was wrong. Others thought the umpires got it right.
Let us hear what you think in the comments section below.