clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Andre Dawson elected to Hall of Fame

Andre Dawson has been elected into the Hall of Fame in his ninth try today, beating out Bert Blyleven and Roberto Alomar, who missed the honor by five and eight votes, respectively.

"It was well worth the wait. I can't really describe the elation," Dawson said during a telephone conference call. "If you're a Hall of Famer, eventually you're going to get in, no matter how long it takes."

Dawson hit 438 home runs over the course of his career, which began in 1976 and ended in 1996. He won the NL Rookie of the Year in Montreal and the MVP with the Cubs in 1987.

While it is a shame that Blyleven and Alomar missed out in 2010, Blyleven will certainly have a better chance in 2011 as will Alomar, who appeared on the ballot for the first time in 2010. 

Next years ballot will include: Rafael Palmeiro, Juan Gonzalez, Larry Walker, Jeff Bagwell, John Franco, and Kevin Brown, among others.