clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mets re-sign Yoenis Cespedes to 4-year, $110 million deal

The slugger will return to New York on the largest free-agent deal in Mets history.

Bill Streicher-USA TODAY Sports

The Mets have agreed to re-sign outfielder Yoenis Cespedes to a 4-year, $110 million deal, according to Ken Rosenthal of and Jeff Passan of Yahoo! Sports. The deal is the largest free-agent contract in Mets history, and includes a no-trade clause.

Cespedes' deal guarantees the second-most average annual value for a position player in major-league history, falling short to only Miguel Cabrera's $31.5 million with the Tigers.

Cespedes, the top free agent available on this year's market, will return to New York just one month after opting out of the two years and $47.5 million left on the 3-year, $75 million deal he signed with the club last winter. New York made the outfielder their top priority this offseason, and was expected to compete with clubs like the Giants and Nationals in its efforts to sign him. The Astros, who already added Brian McCann and Josh Reddick this winter, made a serious push for Cespedes, according to ESPN's Buster Olney.

Cespedes received an extra $55 million by opting out, and will earn an average annual value of $27.5 million -- the exact salary he received last season from New York. With Cespedes off the market, offense-hungry teams will turn to sluggers like Edwin Encarnacion, Jose Bautista and Mark Trumbo in free agency.

Cespedes reunites with Curtis Granderson, Juan Lagares and Jay Bruce in the Mets' outfield, though reports have indicated that the team will try to trade Bruce at next week's Winter Meetings. New York also has youngsters Brandon Nimmo and Michael Conforto in its long-term outfield mix.

Cespedes, 31, hit .280/.354/.530 with 31 homers and 86 RBI in his first full season in New York after coming over from the Tigers in a trade deadline deal in 2015. He is a veteran of five major-league seasons with four different clubs, and has been named an All-Star on two occasions (2014, 2016).