clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Rawlings announces Gold Glove award finalists

54 players have been nominated as finalists for 18 awards

MLB: San Francisco Giants at Boston Red Sox Paul Rutherford-USA TODAY Sports

On Thursday, Rawlings announced 54 finalists for 18 Gold Glove awards, three from each position per league. Here is a breakdown of the finalists and most likely candidates to be dubbed best fielders.

American League

Pitchers: Jose Berrios (Twins), Mike Leake (Mariners), Lucas Giolito (White Sox)

Giolito, a finalist for Comeback Player of the Year before losing to Hunter Pence, led this trio in defensive runs saved above average and will likely win the Gold Glove award.

Catchers: Danny Jansen (Blue Jays), Christian Vazquez (Red Sox), Roberto Perez (Indians)

Vazquez is expected to win this award after leading this trio in runners caught stealing, successful pickoff attempts, and fielding percentage.

First Basemen: Yuli Gurriel (Astros), Matt Olson (Athletics), Justin Smoak (Blue Jays)

Olson easily led this trio in range factor and defensive runs saved, among other categories, so he should be well on his way to winning the Gold Glove award.

Second Basemen: Jose Altuve (Astros), D.J. Lemahieu (Yankees), Yolmer Sanchez (White Sox)

Altuve and Lemahieu’s numbers don't even come close to Sanchez’s. The Chicago infielder should take home the honors this year.

Third Basemen: Alex Bregman (Astros), David Fletcher (Angels), Matt Chapman (Athletics)

Matt Chapman is the best fielder in baseball, so he should win this competition by a landslide.

Shortstops: Marcus Semien (Athletics), Andrelton Simmons (Angels), Francisco Lindor (Indians)

This is one of the tougher races, but Semien posts all-around better numbers, so he has a slight advantage.

Left-fielders: Robbie Grossman (Athletics), Andrew Benintendi (Red Sox), Alex Gordon (Royals)

Of this trio, Gordon had the best season — by far — playing nearly flawless baseball while seeing the ball hit his way quite often.

Center-fielders: Kevin Kiermaier (Rays), Mike Trout (Angels), Jackie Bradley, Jr. (Red Sox)

It’s always hard to vote against Trout, but Bradley has a slight edge on both other finalists here.

Right-fielders: Kole Calhoun (Angels), Mookie Betts (Red Sox), Josh Reddick (Astros)

The finish between Calhoun and Betts could be a close one, but Mookie should snag the honors.

National League

Pitchers: Jack Flaherty (Cardinals), Zack Greinke (Diamondbacks), Aaron Nola (Phillies)

Greinke, while having a great season pitching, also had a solid fielding campaign, and he should win a Gold Glove award.

Catchers: Austin Hedges (Padres), Yadier Molina (Cardinals), J.T. Realmuto (Phillies)

J.T. Realmuto had another great year behind the dish, gunning down base-stealers and saving runs. He should win the award.

First basemen: Christian Walker (Diamondbacks), Paul Goldschmidt (Cardinals), Anthony Rizzo (Cubs)

Walker and Rizzo could see a close finish, but Walker will have a slight edge, giving him some new hardware.

Second basemen: Ozzie Albies (Braves), Kolten Wong (Cardinals), Adam Frazier (Pirates)

Kolten Wong should win this award quite handily.

Third basemen: Nolan Arenado (Rockies), Anthony Rendon (Nationals), Josh Donaldson (Braves)

We’ve known for a while that Arenado has one of the best gloves in baseball. He’ll add a gold one to his repertoire this fall.

Shortstops: Paul De Jong (Cardinals), Trevor Story (Rockies), Nick Ahmed (Diamondbacks)

This will be the tighest race out of all the Gold Glove competitions. I suppose De Jong has the slightest edge.

Left-fielders: Juan Soto (Nationals), David Peralta (Diamondbacks), Hunter Renfroe (Padres)

Peralta had easily the best fielding season out of this trio, and he should win the Gold Glove award this year.

Center-fielders: Victor Robles (Nationals), Lorenzo Cain (Brewers), Harrison Bader (Cardinals)

There are valid reasons for voting for both Robles and Cain, but the latter should take home the hardware this time around.

Right-fielders: Bryce Harper (Phillies), Jason Heyward (Cubs), Cody Bellinger (Dodgers)

It seems like Harper is only listed because of his name, but the stats actually point out why he should win the award.