clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Baseball Hall of Fame unveils 2021 ballot

It appears unlikely that anyone will be inducted on their first ballot this year.

Divisional Series - New York Yankees v Minnesota Twins - Game Three”n Photo by Brace Hemmelgarn/Minnesota Twins/Getty Images

The Baseball Hall of Fame has unveiled the ballot for 2021 BBWAA voting:

This year’s class perhaps creates the opportunity for several players who have been on the fringe in recent years, such as Curt Schilling, Omar Vizquel, Scott Rolen, and Billy Wagner, to gain some ground. Perhaps Barry Bonds and Roger Clemens — who would have been first-ballot shoo-ins if not for their ties to performance-enhancing drugs — will finally get over the hump this year after receiving votes from around 60% of voters back in January.

It’s unlikely that we’ll see any of the first-time-eligible players — Mark Buehrle, A.J. Burnett, Michael Cuddyer, LaTroy Hawkins, Tim Hudson, Torii Hunter, Aramis Ramirez, Nick Swisher, Shane Victorino, and Barry Zito — be inducted in January. None of them stand a particularly strong chance, but Hudson, Buehrle, and Hunter figure to be the best bets to get in at some point.

The BBWAA’s voting results will be revealed on Jan. 26, 2021.